6 things to do

A dating relationship or roommate who will live elsewhere. Removing someone from your smart home can be tricky, but with these 6 actions you’ll be fine.

Continue reading after the announcement.

Remove someone from your smart home

Acda and de Munnik sang “cd from you, cd from me” about things to be divided after a relationship ends. Now it’s like a “streaming service from you, smart lamp from me”, because times are changing.

If you two live together, you can also manage the smart home together. If you break up after a relationship breakup or if your roommate moves to live somewhere else, you should take into account that this person not only gets the physical key, but you also prevent them from accessing the smart home.

1. Remove from Google Home

Is your smart home controlled by Google Home? Then you may have made a home there with the other people you live with. You must remove the person who leaves this family. Otherwise, that person may intentionally or inadvertently continue to control appliances in your home. Or maybe listen or watch through microphones and cameras.

to do this. Follow next steps:

  1. Open the Google Home app.
  2. Click on “Settings”.
  3. Select “Family”.
  4. Click on the person you want to remove.
  5. Click “Delete” at the top right with the trash can icon.

2. Reset smart devices

To make sure that person can no longer access your smart devices, it is smart to reset them one by one. Sometimes this can be done using a physical button on the device. Other times, you have to search the companion app.

3. Delete or move profiles on streaming services

If you live together, you probably share streaming services that each have their own profile. If you’re alone now, you don’t want to keep looking at the profile of the person who’s gone. So, remove it from your streaming services.

Netflix recently added the ability to transfer an existing profile to a new account. That other gives the opportunity to take your watchlist, progress, and recommendations to a new Netflix account. This feature is called “Profile Transfer”.

4. Remove from your Google Photos memories

Google Photos does its best to make all kinds of fun memories. For example from a few years ago or from a recent trip or vacation. But if your relationship just ended, you probably don’t want to be reminded of what it was every time.

Fortunately, you can remove people from memories. You just need to know exactly where to find this option. To do this, go to “Google Photos Settings” > “Reminders” > “Hide People & Pets” in the app. There you choose who you no longer want to see in your memories, creations, and in your search page.

google products netherlands

5. Change your passwords

Take the time to think about what you might have shared the password for with the leaving person. Think not only of passwords for streaming services, but also, for example, a computer at home and WiFi. It’s best to come up with a new password for all of these things.

This may seem like an exaggeration, but even if you break up amicably, you don’t know what the future holds. These types of loose ends pose an unnecessary security risk.

6. Clear history

If you share a device, such as a tablet or computer, one of them will likely leave with that device. Don’t forget to clear history beforehand. It lists, for example, the websites you’ve visited, what you’ve purchased and what searches you’ve made. Your passwords can also be saved via the browser.

More tips for your smart home

If you’re reading this, you might be thinking: Why start a smart home when changing things up is so hard? Here are five reasons to create a smart home. It doesn’t have to be big, because you can also make your smart home invisible. But whatever you do: Be careful with the cheap smart home.

Leave a Comment